rima abusaid 0

Halal and Vegetarian Food on Campus

201 people have signed this petition. Add your name now!
rima abusaid 0 Comments
201 people have signed. Add your voice!
14%
Maxine K. signed just now
Adam B. signed just now

SIUE encompasses a diverse student and staff community that strive toward making SIUE reach excellence. This petition is to bring awareness among the SIUE campus that some students are skipping meals due to the partial food options available. For example, there are very few vege options for vegetarians. Furthermore, Muslim students avoid eating on campus as food available is not halal*. Many times vege options are cooked in ways that make the food non-halal. For e.g. the vege burger is prepared on the same grill as meat products, French fries are fried in the same fryer as the chicken nuggets, and some Chinese sauces contain alcohol which many of the servers are not aware of. Due to these concerns, we are requesting the following from SIUE:

  • Label products as vegetarian, with their ingredients listed
  • ensure that there is no cross contamination between vege product as and meat products
  • offer some halal food on campus to cater to SIUE Muslim students

Labelling and taking care of cross-contamination would not only help the Muslim students, but also many Hindus, vegetarians in general, etc.We are asking all students and teachers from SIUE to support us even if you are satisfied with the current food. As a member of this intellectual & cultural community, we hope we can help each other in making our campus more inclusive. Please sign this petition and put your 800 number in comment box to support.

And please don’t forget to check out the box for show my name in signature list above sign petition button.

Thank you

* Halal slaughtering is the particular way of slaughtering animals, that is considered Islamic. Certain animals are acceptable to consume if they are slaughtered according to Islamic law. Any products containing meat needs to be halal (for e.g. if rice is cooked in non-halal chicken broth, it would not be considered halal). Any pig- derivative products, alcohol, etc are not considered halal. Halal products can be consumed and enjoyed by non-Muslims as well.

Share for Success

Comment

201

Signatures