LI CAWS 0

URGENT: Sign Petition and Call Town Hall - Only 2 Days Left for the Town of Hempstead to File Its Intentions to Acquire American Water

1269 signers. Add your name now!
LI CAWS 0 Comments
1269 signers. Almost there! Add your voice!
95%
Maxine K. signed just now
Adam B. signed just now

Prior to its approval of the sale, the Public Service Commission ("PSC") is accepting plans from municipalities for a public acquisition of all or part of NYAW. CAWS immediately moved to extend the PSC’s deadline for municipalities to submit plans to acquire all or part of NYAW’s service area to October 15, 2020.

CALL YOUR TOWN COUNCILPERSON AT 516-489-5000 or EMAIL COUNCILPERSONS:

Dorothy Goosby at dgoosby@tohmail.org,
Thomas Muscarella at tmuscarella@tohmail.org,
Bruce Blakeman at bblakeman@tohmail.org,
Anthony D’Esposito at adesposito@tohmail.org,
Chris Carini at ccarini@tohmail.org,
Dennis Dunne at ddunne@tohmail.org,

AND SUPERVISOR:
Supervisor Don Clavin at donclavin@tohmail.org

TELL THE TOWN TO FILE ITS INTENTIONS TO ACQUIRE AMERICAN WATER BY OCT 15!! TELL THEM "WE DESERVE PUBLIC WATER, TOO!"

Massapequa Water District filed its plans to acquire the easternmost part of NYAW's Long Island territories.

Senator Gaughran established the North Shore Water Authority to acquire NYAW's territory on the north shore and filed its plans.

Ulster County filed its intentions to acquire NYAW's upstate operations.

And the Town of Hempstead hired Walden Environmental Engineering to complete a feasibility study by October 5 so that it can file its intentions. Yet, at tonight's Town Board Meeting, the Town Attorney stated that it needed more time.

Filing a statement with the PSC that the Town is seriously considering acquiring NYAW's Hempstead operations may suffice for now and give the Town time to investigate its feasibility. Hempstead randomly supplies water to six districts in the Town, but refuses to provide water to over 100,000 households currently served by an investor-owned utility - NYAW. NYAW ratepayers pay 400-500% more for water than those with public water.

Not filing timely would be governmental and constitutional negligence - failing to provide services to all residents while arbitrarily and capriciously providing the same service to some residents.

Time is of the essence. Please sign this petition.

Dave Denenberg and Claudia Borecky

LI Clean Air Water & Soil, Ltd.

Share for Success

Comment

1269

Signatures