Vin Gopal 0

Open Letter to Chairman John Wisniewski

43 people have signed this petition. Add your name now!
Vin Gopal 0 Comments
43 people have signed. Add your voice!
Maxine K. signed just now
Adam B. signed just now

UPDATE::::::::::: The Democratic members of redistricting committee dropped the original Democratic proposal - On Sunday, April 3rd, the redistricting committee approved a map that does not pit Senators Buono and Vitale against each other.

Thank you everyone for your support!

The 100+ signers of the below letter.


Below is statement from Senators Buono and Vitale



Thank you.

Now that Professor Rosenthal, the Redistricting Commission’s Supreme Court appointed member, has chosen the Democratic legislative map, we would like to express our gratitude to everyone who stood with us through this sometimes difficult process.

We are proud to stand with you to make health care more affordable and accessible for every woman, man and child.  We are proud to stand with you in the cause to keep New Jersey a leader in public education.  We are proud to stand with you in the fight to make sure corporations and multi-millionaires simply pay their fair share so middle class families and seniors get relief from their tax burden.  We are proud to stand with teachers, nurses, cops, firefighters and all those who put public service first.  We are proud to stand with everyone who works tirelessly to protect our air, water. open spaces and shore.  And, most of all, we are proud to stand with all those who never stop fighting for justice, tolerance and the belief that New Jersey can be better tomorrow than it is today.

You touched our hearts by standing with us.  And we want you to know we will always stand with you.

Thank you.


To the Hon. Chairman John Wisniewski

We were extraordinarily disappointed to read, that at your direction, the Democratic Party's redistricting committee has submitted a map targeting Senate Majority Leader Barbara Buono and State Senator Joe Vitale. In addition to championing progressive causes, Senator Buono is of course the first female Senate Majority Leader in the history of New Jersey. We have a stake in her success.

As Senator Vitale so aptly put, you could not find two Senators in New Jersey whose public careers have been in part dedicated to shaping policies that benefit minorities, women and the disenfranchised like his and Senator Buono's. 

Democrats at every level of government are aligning themselves with Governor Christie’s regressive policies – Barbara Buono and Joe Vitale are not among them.  They are fighting for our working families and the interests of the middle class. 

This is a direct attack on the progressive wing of the Democratic Party to remove the first female Senate Majority Leader. We urge you to reconsider this action and to not move forward with a map pitting Senators Buono and Vitale against each other.

Democrats throughout New Jersey are watching and prepared to organize along this issue if this map moves forward.


Newark City Councilman Ronald C. Rice
Newark City Councilwoman Mildred Crump
Chairman Jeff Gardner
Mayor Julie Shreck
Mayor Domenick Stampone
Babs Casbar Siperstein
Blue Wave New Jersey
New Jersey Citizen Action
Chairwoman Lavonne Bebler Johnson
Steven Goldstein, Chair and CEO, Garden State Equality
Matt Shapiro, President New Jersey Tenants Organization
New Jersey League of Humane Voters
Rosi Efthim
Joseph Novick
Jay Lassiter
Victoria Amato
John Amberg
Kathleen Amberg
Rebecca Aaronson
Rick Aaronson
Michael Amato
Cosmo Amato
Chairwoman Ann Baker
Peter Basso
Barry Bendar
Jane Bidwell
Deputy Mayor Randy Bishop
J.Putnam Brodsky, M.D.
Chairman Eric Brophy
Anne Burns
Merrilee Cichy
Marie Corfield, Assembly Candidate
Lucy Craig
Saulo Diaz
Steve Ember
Dale Hardman
Carol E. Gay, EVP NJ Industrial Union Council
Vin Gopal
Susan B. Gordon
Paul Greaves
Brian Greaves
Councilwoman Kathy Horgan
Committeewoman Mary Beth Jahn
Matthew Jordan
Steve Krager
Boris Kofman
Ellen Lichtig
April Kuzas
Laura Landerman
Mary Mahoney
Susan L. Goldring
Marilyn Michaels
Debony Miller
Paul Migaj
Councilwoman Juanita Lewis
Majorie Levy
Doris Lin, Freehold Township Democrats
Councilwoman Dina Long
Kathy Maher, Ocean Township Democrats Club President
Dan Margo
Joanne O'Neill
Amy G. Papi
Pat Pascuite
Brian Quinn
Carol Rivielle
Chairwoman Norma Rosenbloom
Paul Ruderman
Susan E. Russell
Jay Schulman
Jo Sippie-Gora
John Stolz
Dan Sidorick
Patricia E. Sigalas
Carrie Berger Szeliga
Chairwoman Barbara Truncellito
Chairwoman Amy Quinn
Dan Ulloa
Tom Wyka, Congressional Candidate 2006 & 2008
Jim Vahey
Betty Wyka
Kimberly Zahlten
Councilman & Chairman Edward Zipprich
Chairwoman Fran Zimmer


Share for Success