Morgan Stepp 0

Gene Ross Memorial Ski Jump

71 people have signed this petition. Add your name now!
Morgan Stepp 0 Comments
71 people have signed. Add your voice!
Maxine K. signed just now
Adam B. signed just now

Gene Ross was a member of the PRHS Jumping Team from 1979-1981. He was captain of the 79-80 and 80-81 teams. He worked on building the jump during the 1979 season as a jumper. He was the first person to jump despite having lost a toss of the coin with Bill Hendrickson to determine which boy would jump first. At the top of the jump, Gene pushed Bill out of the way and proceeded to fly from the jump first. They were state championship teams both years he was captain in 79-80 and 80-81.

Gene was Plymouth's Ski Jumping coach from 1992 to 2003. He was head coach at the time of his death. The New Hampshire High School jumping community awards the Gene Ross Memorial Cup to the outstanding rookie of the year each season. The trophy stays in the PRHS trophy case permanently. The 2015 winner was Lucas Johnstone, a Plymouth jumper who will be on the team again this year.

For these and many other reasons, we would like to honor Gene Ross by naming our new ski jump the Gene Ross Memorial Ski Jump.

Thank you for your support!

Share for Success