Bud Selig: Fix the New MLB Secured Possession Rule
For over a century, a catch in major league baseball has been ruled an out if the fielder caught the ball in his glove and had control of it. If he then dropped the ball transferring it to his throwing hand (like when turning a double play), the first out based on the initial catch still counted, he just didn't get the opportunity to make the second out because the ball was considered to be dropped on the transfer and not the catch which was a second act separate from the first. This makes sense because the player caught the ball and it was clearly in his glove.
This year, with expanded video replay, the rule interpretation was changed to include the transfer of the ball to the throwing hand as part of a fair catch. This has resulted in base runners being safe after being called out initially and goes against the grain of the game that we've come to love for the past hundred years. Replay is supposed to clear up confusion. Not create even more of it.
I'm sure this was an unintended consequence of the rule change meant to help clarify what might be acceptable for video review. Allan H. Selig, please fix this rule that goes against all common sense about what a catch is or isn't. The umpires are just doing what they've been instructed to do, so this falls on your shoulders to fix a rule that neither fans, players, or coaches want.