Mars starts using animal products!

Mars starts using animal products After reading the BBC news article: http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/business/6653175.stm Some of the UK's best-selling chocolate bars, such as Mars and Twix, will no longer be suitable for vegetarians. Also affecting brands such as Snickers and Maltesers, owner Masterfoods said it had started to use animal product rennet to make its chocolate products. Masterfoods said the change was due to it switching the sourcing of its ingredients and the admission was a "principled decision" on its part. Masterfoods said it had started using rennet from 1 May and non-affected products had a "best before date" up to 1 October. Rennet, a chemical sourced from calves' stomachs, is used in the production of whey. It will now also be found in Bounty, Minstrels and Milky Way products, and the ice cream versions of all Masterfoods' bars. The cheek of Paul Goalby(corporate affairs manager for Masterfoods) to say. "If the customer is an extremely strict vegetarian, then we are sorry the products are no longer suitable, but a less strict vegetarian should enjoy our chocolate," What does he mean strict vegitarian. Animal products are animal products! Please sign this petition.

Discussion

No comments yet.

join the discussion

Recent signatures

  • username

    Abdul Hamid, United Kingdom

    3 years ago Comments: -
  • username

    Keeshan Wadia, Singapore

    8 years ago Comments: It's a crazy business move by Masterfoods, are they trying to gain customers or lose them! Maybe vegetarians should avoid all Masterfoods products to send them a message that we don't like their way of thinking.
  • username

    Vina, United Kingdom

    8 years ago
See more

Petition highlights

There are no highlights yet.